Home Canada Indigenous candidates get caught up in status quo election

Indigenous candidates get caught up in status quo election

Indigenous candidates get caught up in status quo election

By By Shari Narine, Local Journalism Initiative Reporter, Windspeaker.comWindspeaker.com

Tue., Sept. 21, 20215 min. read

Early Newspaper

​For the third consecutive federal election the series of Indigenous MPs to sit down down in Ottawa maxes out at 10, that despite a file series of 77 Indigenous candidates running this time around.

Justin Trudeau’s Liberals were re-elected for a third term Sept. 20 and would possibly perhaps well well get a 2nd-consecutive minority authorities.

“I think what we’ve seen across the board (is) folks caught with the status quo,” said Courtney Skye, research fellow with the Indigenous think-tank the Yellowhead Institute.

“There became minute or no swap that came about with this election. It didn’t seem there were very many ridings that made a thorough swap. There were about a modifications right here and there, nonetheless nothing that can perhaps well dramatically swap things…”

After 36 days of campaigning simplest two new Indigenous faces would possibly perhaps be added to the eight incumbents re-elected.

Contemporary Democratic Occasion candidate Blake Desjarlais of the Fishing Lake Métis Settlement defeated Conservative incumbent Kerry Diotte in the riding of Edmonton Griesbach garnering 40 per cent of the vote to Diotte’s 37 per cent. Edmonton Griesbach is one of three seats of 34 in Alberta no longer inch to the Conservatives, though a fourth seat, Edmonton Centre, remains too discontinuance to call.

In Nunavut, three women, two of whom are Inuk, competed for that seat with Lori Idlout retaining it for the NDP defeating Laura Mackenzie (Conservative).

Idlout garnered 48 per cent of the vote. The seat became left vacant when Mumilaaq Qaqqaq made up our minds no longer to seek a 2nd term.


There were considerable losses Sept. 20, including old Métis Nation-Saskatchewan president Robert Doucette who traded the lead with Conservative incumbent Brad Redekopp in Saskatoon West during the evening earlier than Redekopp won with 46 per cent of the vote. Doucette garnered 38 per cent support.

Speaking to Windspeaker.com the day after the election, Doucette says he believes that margin will decrease as soon as the mail-in ballots are counted.

As for his loss, he says it’s exhausting to know what electors were thinking, nonetheless he is optimistic in regards to the next election, which he expects to be called in two or three years.

“I think the future for Indigenous folks, running in politics and what we bring to the desk, we’ve obtained a shiny future sooner than us. We’ve obtained some truly enormous young leaders that are coming up and so they’re going to step into those locations, they’re going to shock loads of folks,” he said.

He also expects extra Indigenous candidates. The series of candidates who ran in this election is ready 15 extra than 2019.

“I think that we admire our governments, our First Countries and Métis and Inuit governments, nonetheless I also think that younger Indigenous folks are seeing that it’s needed for our points to be handled in the halls of Parliament so our households and points are talked about and handled,” said Doucette.

He congratulated both Desjarlais and Idlout on their wins.

Skye says she’s no longer surprised that the two victorious candidates are NDP.

“I think that other folks are a minute of bit wary of the Liberal Occasion at this point. I think folks are fine to criticize their monitor information, how they did not reside up to a couple of their commitments,” she said.

There were enormous expectations from utterly different Indigenous candidates as successfully.

Gentle Unpleasant Lake First Nation Chief Shirley Robinson would possibly perhaps well well no longer get a Liberal victory in the riding of Churchill-Keewatinook Aski despite endorsements from Assembly of Manitoba Chiefs Sizable Chief Arlen Dumas and Sizable Chief Garrison Settee of the Manitoba Keewatinowi Okimakanak.

Robinson and Charlotte Larocque, Indigenous candidate for the Conservatives, each garnered 25 per cent of the vote. Inexperienced candidate Ralph McLean became a third Indigenous candidate in that riding garnering three per cent of the vote. Niki Ashton retained her seat for the NDP.

In the northern Saskatchewan riding of Desnethe-Missinippi-Churchill River three Indigenous candidates were amongst the picks. Gentle NDP Saskatchewan Cabinet Minister Buckley Belanger ran for the Liberals and positioned 2nd with 27 per cent of the vote. Harmone King ran for the NDP and earned 18 per cent of the vote. Nasser Dean Chalifoux ran for the Greens and earned one per cent of the vote. The riding became retained by Conservative incumbent Gary Vidal with 48 per cent of the vote.

In Ontario, two chiefs sought seats in two utterly different ridings and both lost to the incumbents.

Wiikwemkoong Chief Duke Peltier, running for the Liberals, came in third with 22 per cent of the vote in the riding of Algoma-Manitoulin-Kapuskasing. NDP incumbent Carol Hughes retained the riding with 40 per cent support.

In Lambton-Kent-Middlesex, Chippewas of Kettle and Stony Point First Nation Chief Jason Henry, running below the NDP banner, also positioned third with 18 per cent of the vote. The seat became retained by Conservative Lianne Rood.

Returning to Ottawa are incumbent Liberals Dan Vandal (Saint Boniface-Saint Valuable), Michael McLeod (NWT), Marc Serre (Nickel Belt, ON), Vance Badawey (Niagara Centre), Yvonne Jones (Labrador) and Jaime Battiste (Sydney-Victoria) and Conservative Marc Dalton in Pitt Meadows-Maple Ridge; and NDP Leah Gazan in Winnipeg Centre.

The Liberals are projected to lose three Cabinet ministers, including Fisheries and Oceans Minister Bernadette Jordan in the riding of South Shore—St. Margarets in Nova Scotia. Conservative Rick Perkins took the seat.

Jordan has been criticized for ignoring inherent and treaty rights of Mi’kmaq fishers in Nova Scotia. During the election campaign, Assembly of First Countries National Chief RoseAnne Archibald threw her support behind Mi’kmaq fishers when she boarded one of their boats which became surrounded by the Division of Fisheries and Oceans (DFO) officers. DFO personnel continue to empty or confiscate Mi’kmaq lobster traps.

Skye says Jordan became extra inclined to losing her seat since the points were in her home province. Then again, she points to seats projected to be lost by two utterly different women Cabinet ministers: Maryam Monsef (Peterborough—Kawartha) who served as minister of ladies and gender equality and minister of rural financial style, and Deb Schulte (King—Vaughan), minister of seniors.

“The cynical eradicate on that, I think, is Justin Trudeau distanced himself on some rather serious points and historic women as shields in some of those prime policy areas,” said Skye.

Indigenous Providers and products Minister Marc Miller and Crown-Indigenous Family Minister Carolyn Bennett both held on to their seats.

With mail-in ballots aloof to be counted the parties maintain or lead in: Liberals 158 seats, Conservatives 119 seats, Bloc Quebecois 34 seats, NDP 25 seats, and the Greens two seats.

Leaders Annamie Paul (Inexperienced Occasion) and Maxime Bernier (Peoples Occasion) didn’t win their seats.

This became a “bland election,” said Skye, as it did not include anything about “transforming the country by a path of of reconciliation or radically considering modifications that are needed to handle native weather swap.”

She hopes the next election, which she anticipates will happen in the next two years, makes Indigenous points extra than imprecise points on birthday party platforms.


Indigenous candidates get caught up in status quo election