Home United Kingdom New Mannequin Military’s Justin Sullivan announces brand new solo album ‘Surrounded’

New Mannequin Military’s Justin Sullivan announces brand new solo album ‘Surrounded’

New Mannequin Military’s Justin Sullivan announces brand new solo album ‘Surrounded’

On Can also 28th, 2021, Justin Sullivan steps out from New Mannequin Military to liberate his 2nd solo album, eighteen years after the foremost. Surrounded is a series of sixteen new songs, written in the foremost weeks of the 2020 lockdown. These songs are again guitar-vocal compositions highlighting Sullivan’s indulge in of storytelling, wide originate landscapes and necessary atmospheres. Do away with link right here.

Early Newspaper

Largely recorded at home, the album also aspects contributions from many other musicians alongside side Jon Thorne on bass (Lamb) on harp Tom Moth (Florence and the Machine – and brother of NMA bassist Ceri Monger), plus string arrangements from composer chums Tobias Unterberg, Henning Nugel and Shir-Ran Yinon. Moreover featured are the unique participants of New Mannequin Military. The album became blended by Lee Smith at Greenmount Studios in Leeds, co-producer and mixer of New Mannequin Military’s unique albums, alongside side 2019’s From Right here – their perfect charting album up to now globally.

Justin Sullivan says, “Under the instances, it wasn’t in particular unpleasant that this became the moment to invent one other solo narrative and the songs came thick and fast in the foremost few weeks of the lockdown. There would possibly perhaps be no longer so important about ‘what’s taking place in the World’. As with ‘Navigating by the Stars’, which became written in the aftermath of 9/11, I wanted to jot down about other issues – some neatly-identified tales, some much less neatly-identified, a couple of autobiographical and extra a landscape of the creativeness than social narrate.

“I’m grateful for all the many musical contributions I got from chums that abet create all the quite loads of atmospheres and locations; it’s a prolonged album, then again it looks all the songs belonged collectively in one series. I’m hoping other folks revel in it.”

Surrounded will change into available on extra than one codecs akin to CD Hardcover Media Guide, Heavyweight Double Vinyl Gatefold and Digital and is available for pre-expose as of now: https://justinsullivan.lnk.to/Surrounded

This day also sees the liberate of ‘Amundsen’, the very first single from Surrounded which affords an emotional first perception into this very private album.

Justin Sullivan about ‘Amundsen’: “The tales of polar (and in particular Antarctic) adventurers at the start of the 20th Century dangle prolonged been a fascination. On my first solo narrative, ‘Ocean Rising’ is, in part, the legend of Ernest Shackleton’s chronicle voyage from Elephant Island to South Georgia. The final disappear to reach the South Pole between Robert Scott and Roald Amundsen is one other intriguing tale.

“Being raised in England, Scott and his ‘noble, tragic’ failure is a yarn written great in national mythology nonetheless the different man, a no doubt outstanding explorer, is hardly acknowledged. The battle over who will get to repeat which model of a yarn is terribly connected in these times of ‘tradition wars’, nonetheless the song is extra a straightforward set apart a matter to of the man himself; I’m hoping I no doubt dangle finished him justice.”

The liberate of Surrounded can even gaze the re-liberate of Sullivan’s finest earlier solo album from 2003, Navigating by the Stars, released on CD nonetheless unavailable for a couple of years. Described by The Honest as having “the good and comfortable organic quality of Van Morrison’s Astral Weeks”, the audio of this new model has no longer been altered nonetheless carries two additional tracks. These are ‘Sooner or Later’, which first regarded on a B-facet in 2003, and ‘The Ruin of The Essex’, a song written and recorded later that similar year that has laid dormant ever since nonetheless for a couple of dwell performances.

Navigating by the Stars will change into available digitally and for the foremost time ever on vinyl. As well to, Justin Sullivan’s dazzling debut album comes in a CD Digisleeve Model with an expanded booklet as a part of a Ltd. CD Field-Space Model of Surrounded, followed by a standalone liberate later this year.


1. Dirge

2. Amundsen

3. Coming With Me

4. Clear Horizon Dry

5. Stone and Heather

6. 28th Can also

7. Akistan

8. Unforgiven

9. Sao Paulo

10. 1975

11. Sea Again

12. Positive Skies

13. Rip Tides

14. Daughter Of The Sun

15. Drag

16. Surrounded

New Mannequin Military’s Justin Sullivan announces brand new solo album ‘Surrounded’